Newark Public Schools – 10 new principals announced

Newark Public Schools will welcome 10 new principals to the district for the upcoming 2022-23 school year as Roger León, the superintendent, announced the lineup of recent principal hires.

Each of the new principals was promoted from within the district’s ranks, featuring a mix of employees who have worked in the district’s elementary and high schools. The superintendent also announced the first principal appointed to lead the new Ironbound Academy School, which will hold its inaugural school year in September.

Here are the 10 new principals for the 2022-23 school year:

American History High School – Meg Murray; Avon Avenue Elementary School – Krishna Dalal Barroso; Dr. E. Alma Flagg – Filipa Alexandra Silva; East Side High School – Carlos M. Rodriguez; Elliott Street School – Andres Barquin; Ironbound Academy – Erica L. Paich; Luis Muñoz Marin – Daniel Guerra; McKinley Elementary School – Lynnette Dortrait; Quitman Street School – Courtney R. Johnson and Sir Isaac Newton – Tiffany Wicks.